Sept 10, 2024. Betanzos to Hospital de Bruga
Ok, so before I fall asleep, I must put down what happened last night in the Albergue. So I’m settling in, just put down my book because it kept hitting my face. It’s about 10:00 pm. A very bright light comes on in the room that houses 5 of us, one of which has fallen asleep after drinking a bottle of wine, another is downstairs reading her book and I., one of the five, is just dozing off.
The other two, both Spaniard men, enter the room and though silent, the place is lit up like a Christmas tree.
I waited, patiently, for the blaring light to be shut off. After what seemed like a decent time for the turner oner to realize they had forgotten, I got out of bed and shut the bathroom door from whence the bright light (and loud fan I might add) came. Well it was but 30 seconds later that the door was opened and the light again flooded the room.
After another minute and noticing a bit of movement near my bed, I stood up and confronted the culprit. “It’s late, we’re trying to sleep here. You need to get rid of that light,” I exclaimed. He said “we will as soon as we get the beds ready!” I’m thinking “what the hell, you could have gotten the beds ready before you all went drinking and before it got dark like the rest of us did.”
Anyways, from that point forward, there was NO sleep for me. It was one of those tossing and turning nights where you actually start thinking about “tossing and turning” and wonder where that expression came from.
When I finally gave up and took my earplugs out I was treated with one of the loudest sessions of snoring I have ever had the pleasure to witness.
So today I had to walk 15 miles, most of which was uphill 😝 with NO sleep. All I could think about was “I’m so glad I wasn’t drinking.”
So thats the way my 8 hours went. And this seemed appropriate:
The WIFI here is wonky, so I may have to finish this post later.
Here’s me finishing it later;
Believe it or not I did walk 15 miles today and did not have to suffer any repercussions of a sleepless night. Here are some photos:
![]() |
| A ramp at a mountain bike park |
![]() |
| This is me with Avelina of Casa Avelina fame |
I’m going to finish up so I can move on to logging in the 11th which is today!
But first I have to explain about Casa Avelina. I belong to a Facebook Group “Camino Inglés.” For those members who have travelled the Camino Inglés, they report that this is a stop that is a “must.” Well I never knew where it was until yesterday when I stumbled across a bar that was bursting with humans — all of them pilgrims. I looked up and sure enough the marque read “Casa Avelina.” Well dammit, I had to stop. Didn’t drink, only found Avelina busy making all her patrons comfortable. I tapped her on her back, she turned around and I told her that I must have a picture with her. As you can see, she obliged.
Ok. That’s it for now. Nitey nite😌




Comments
Post a Comment